T Nation

Bike choice?

I am fairly new to the world of bikes, got my license merely a year ago. In December I have bought an ugly but lots of fun dual purpose monster Yamaha Trailway but plan to buy something new soon. I have some experience driving Yamaha Diversion 900 (I like it, a bit too expensive though), Suzuki GS500 from the GS twins world, a friend of mine has GSXR 750 (he sold it today!)…I need a bike that will be good for commuting, city traffic and lane splitting, short distance trips, that has decent perfs and stats and can be used ocasionally for sports and fun driving. It also has to be able to accomodate a luggage case because I carry around my food and notebook. After searching the Web and asking around I have pretty much narrowed my choices to Kawasaki Ninja 500S aka ex. GPZ 500S/EX 500, twin-cylinder, 60 hp, but they say it is a great bike of proven quality that can measure up with much more expensive bikes like Bandit 600, and the other choice is Yamaha FZS 600 Fazer, 4 cyl 95 hp based on Yamaha Thundercat, basically a sports naked bike. The first one is around 5500 US$ where I live and the second one is around 7500 US$. I also considered Yamaha XJS 600 Diversion but found out that it is somewhat underpowered and not-fun-to-drive bike so it is out of the scope now. Any ideas from more experienced bikers? Another question - why are the sports-enduro bikes like Aprilia Pegaso, Cagiva Canyon, some BMWs, Varadero, Freewind, KLE not popular in the States? Tnx…

I can’t really give you any info on the bikes you mentioned. I have been looking at the Honda CBR f4 heard good things. As for the sports enduros, it is probably because the roads here are well maintained. If people want to go off road, they by a dirt bike.

I am looking into buying yamaha too. Only I want a cruiser, v-star 1100 custom. Yamaha had a great deal, $50.0 per month plus $750 worth of accesories till january 2003. Unfortunately the offer ends in may.