T Nation

Big Decision.

I am 22 years old and still living with my mom the reason is I pay the mortgage. I have been working at a steel plant for 2 years now because we did not want to get rid of the house when my stepfather passed away.

I was pissed off today and told her to sell the house, she usually says no but now with so much other BS going on in our lives she said she will sell it and give me half of what she gets.

So I have to decide if we sell the house or keep it.

Keep ther house: I keep my hateful job, but will have an investment for when I am older, theres only 8 more years till the house is paid off.

Sell the house: I can move where ever I want since I am not in debt and have no family. The only problem is my lawsuit is not over yet.

My orginal plan was keep working and keep the house untill I am 25. Than get a better job, I posted about off shore oil rigs a couple months ago. Plan was to do that and keep the house.

What would you do if you had this decision? Any advice from you older guys?

Thanks

Why do you have to sell the house to get a better job? Why not get a better job and keep the house now?

Do you have a college education? If not, are you pursuing one? I highly suggest it.

That was the orginal plan. But if she ends up wanting to sell than I can move anywhere that I can find a job.

I guess I should of added that I hate my job and living with my mom.

Well what I suggest is look for a new (better) job now, that way if you decide to stay in the house then you’ll be doing better than you are currently. If you decide to move, well then you quit just like you would at the job you hate now.

I can’t stress enough, however, how important pursuing your college education is. Quite honestly, even if you get your degree in basket weaving, there are a lot of places that will just look at the fact that you have a degree as a big positive.