Big 3 - Form Check

I’ve been lifting with some seriousness for 6-8 months. Friday, I tested my 1RMs so that I could set some goals for 2012. Here are my highest successful attempts:

I’m looking for any feedback on my form that you guys can provide.

Thanks!

[quote]Chilliwack wrote:
I’ve been lifting with some seriousness for 6-8 months. Friday, I tested my 1RMs so that I could set some goals for 2012. Here are my highest successful attempts:

I’m looking for any feedback on my form that you guys can provide.

Thanks![/quote]

squat

• quit dancing your feet around before you squat
  • not sure given the angle, but your knees look like they cave in slightly on the way up

dead

• looks like the weight is on the balls of your feet at the pull rather than heels
  • hips shoot up first and knees almost lock before lockout, turning it into a SLDL
  • you finish with your back instead of firing your glutes

bench

• looks like you bench elbows flared instead of slightly tucked and lower the bar to maybe mid-sternum instead of your diaphragm

Squat:
-You do a good job of keeping your chest up and your low back flat, which is impressive for a 1RM.
-In my opinion, however, you’re missing about an inch of depth, maybe a touch more.
-You’re approach to the bar and your walk-out seem weak. Try standing in front of the bar with both feet next to each other, dip underneath, getting at tight as you can. Take a strong step out with one foot, and then follow with the other. Eventually, you’ll know where you feet need to be, take a deep breath, and squat.

Deadlift:
-Just like in the squat, you do an outstanding job of getting a good hip-hinge. You really sink your hips into the lift before you fire upwards.
-Unfortunately, you loose that great hip position as soon as you start to pull up. Your chest falls forward, and the rest of your body follows.