T Nation

Biceps Training

Hello, I was wondering about bicep training. ive been doing alot of iso training on my biceps but im seeing fewer results. I recently read that two of your excercises should be isolation and the rest compound.

Should I be training bi's and tri's alone on their own day or should i couple them with a back or shoulder routine to keep them under stress without isolating the muscle... Will I see better results with the latter? Thanks Im new here and I read alot of the posts but I dont post very often. Thanks again any input would help.

I’ve made the greatest gains in terms of biceps when combined with back day.

It would usually be sth like

-6 work sets (warm ups don’t count) deadlift (no excuses, DO them!)

-25 chinups (I suggest you’re more of the skinny type, so 50)

-4 sets bent-over rows

-finish with 3 sets of reverse preacher curls (Low rep 3-5)

Im not an expert, I just train for fitness.
I workout my biceps twice a week, usually on tuesdays and fridays. Just two sets, usually barbbell curls and preacher curls. Tuesday I go easy on them and friday I go heavy. You hit your biceps if you do pull ups and chins, so you might wanna work them the day you work your back.
It all depends on your goals.

6 work sets of deadlifts? Holy recovery batman. I only do 1 true work set for deadlifts and I have no trouble adding weight. 6 sets may lend itself to more size but I couldn’t do that and squat in the same week.

Sidenote: I love deadlifts.

Direct bicep training does not a big bicep make.

Not sure how you’re training, but you could probably get away with doing only one exercise for your biceps if you trained them with back - assuming you’re doing some heavy rows and pull-ups. It sounds like this might be a significant volume decrease in direct bicep work for you - which would allow for more complete recovery.