Biceps Tendon Injury

I’ve been training heavy for about 8 years and have never suffered any major injuries until my right shoulder started having pain about a year ago. Slowly the shoulder pain got worse and turned into elbow tendonitis on the same arm. I took about 4 weeks completely off and nothing changed. After seeing 4 different physical therapists and spending a ton of money it was finally determined my biceps tendon keeps slipping out of the Bicepetal groove and causing irritation/inflammation.

My PT will put it back into the groove with some ART and manipulation only for it to come back out the following day or following training session and start causing pain and irritation again. I’m worried that I’m eventually going to tear the tendon which my PT says is a strong possibility. He also stated the tendon can build up scar tissue and eventually not even fit into the groove anymore, which seems like may have already begun.

Does anyone have any advice or personal experience with this type of injury? I’ve been told it’s pretty common in weight lifters and some throwing sports.

Thanks.

[quote]JeffMerr wrote:
I’ve been training heavy for about 8 years and have never suffered any major injuries until my right shoulder started having pain about a year ago. Slowly the shoulder pain got worse and turned into elbow tendonitis on the same arm. I took about 4 weeks completely off and nothing changed. After seeing 4 different physical therapists and spending a ton of money it was finally determined my biceps tendon keeps slipping out of the Bicepetal groove and causing irritation/inflammation.

My PT will put it back into the groove with some ART and manipulation only for it to come back out the following day or following training session and start causing pain and irritation again. I’m worried that I’m eventually going to tear the tendon which my PT says is a strong possibility. He also stated the tendon can build up scar tissue and eventually