T Nation

Bicep/Ebow Joint Help

I’m new to weight lifting and struggling to get my arms even. I’ve been reading on the site about imbalances, which has been very helpful, and was glad to find out it’s not just me. However, when I work out my right arm (the weak arm) no matter what DB exercise, angle, or postion I put my arm in all the pressure is put on my elbow joint.

It feels as if the first inch or two of my bicep (closest to elbow joint) does all the work. My right arm never feels fully worked or pumped all the way up my bicep. I know there’s the long head and short head of the bicep and no upper or lower portion. However, my bicep is the largest, both thicker and taller, closer to my elbow joint. The further up my arm the more narrow and smaller it becomes (closer to my shoulder).

Sorry for the lengthy description, but was trying to lay out the best visualization possible. I was hoping someone could give me some advice or even better some exercises that would help hit the “upper” part of my bicep.

Thanks!

Have you tried dumbbells and supinating?

[quote]rebelangler wrote:
I’m new to weight lifting and struggling to get my arms even. I’ve been reading on the site about imbalances, which has been very helpful, and was glad to find out it’s not just me. However, when I work out my right arm (the weak arm) no matter what DB exercise, angle, or postion I put my arm in all the pressure is put on my elbow joint.

It feels as if the first inch or two of my bicep (closest to elbow joint) does all the work. My right arm never feels fully worked or pumped all the way up my bicep. I know there’s the long head and short head of the bicep and no upper or lower portion. However, my bicep is the largest, both thicker and taller, closer to my elbow joint. The further up my arm the more narrow and smaller it becomes (closer to my shoulder).