T Nation

BFS

I have been doing the BFS workout for the past 4 years and i was wondering if anyone knows of some better workouts for athletes. Dont get me wrong, i enjoy this workout, but i dont get the types of gains i would hope to get from the time i put in. I train for college football. I have been sticking to a good diet recently (high protein, high carbs, low fat) and i take, what i feel, is good amount of supplements. I am taking 1-ad, 4-ad, protein and creatine. All help would be greatly apprectiated.

EN

EN,
In my opinion, BFS is ok for beginners and young athletes but if you want to do some serious training check out www.elitefts.com and read some of the articles there on training for football. Also, check out www.defrancostraining.com this is another great resource for athletes. Start reading and then start doing.

JE

Thank you for that help. I liked everything i read in the articles on DeFranco’s training methods. My only problem is that i am almost clueless on that style lifting plan. I am used to the 3 day-a-week, doing core exercises and then auxilaries. And i have the BFS core schedule set out in front of me on when to do it. I would just like it if i could somehow get more clarification and what lifts to do on what days. Once again thank you very much for your help.