Best Way to Improve Work Capacity?

Need some advice.

I’m a beginner and have very poor work capacity. By this I mean I am unable to sustain my strength levels over multiple sets.

So when my routine calls for, example, 3x10 on the bench press with my 10RM for all sets (not ramping up weights) I’m likely to get 10 reps on the first set, 7 reps on the second set, and 6 reps on my third set.

I rest 2 minutes between sets, but have taken as long as 3 minutes - although the extra minute doesn’t seem to make a difference in increasing reps in subsequent sets.

So my question is what’s the best way to increase my work capacity?

For the record my 10RM on the bench is 135 lbs (no laughing please). For me to get 3x10 with the same weight I would have to drop to 85 lbs (I’ve actually tried and that was my max weight).

I don’t know if I should simply use the extra light weights (ie 85 lbs) and get all my reps, use my real 10 RM and sacrifice reps, or maybe start with my 10RM and strip off weight with every set? Or should I just be doing general conditioning outside of the gym? :-/

Final note - the drop off is like that for any body part - not just the bench press.

Thanks

Well you can do one of a few things: stay a the same weight and focus of trying to bring up the reps on the other set until you can get to 10, back the weight off till you can do the three sets and then increase the weight slowly, or you can take more rest (maybe 5 minutes). You could also be having issues with your form.

[quote]PressingMatter wrote:
Need some advice.

I’m a beginner and have very poor work capacity. By this I mean I am unable to sustain my strength levels over multiple sets.

So when my routine calls for, example, 3x10 on the bench press with my 10RM for all sets (not ramping up weights) I’m likely to get 10 reps on the first set, 7 reps on the second set, and 6 reps on my third set.