Best way to build delts?

I wanted to get some feedback from the experience you guys have had with this. I’ve been working out for many years now (maybe 7 or 8 seriously). I’m 26, 5’11", 203, around 8 or 9% bodyfat right now, can bench 325 for 8, and can do dumbell shoulder presses with the 90’s for 10 reps. I’d say that my best developed body parts are pecs, lats, quads and tri’s. Although my shoulders have gotten much stronger over the years, they never seem to have that nice, round, “capped” look to them. I’ve been trying to add in some more lateral raises (and bent-over laterals), since I’m generally more of a basic, compound movement kind of a guy, but I thought I needed to try something different. I think the laterals have helped a little (and my form is quite strict), but not a lot. Do any of you have any favorite exercises, routines, strategies, etc. that have worked really well for your delts? Thanks in advance.

I know what has worked for me are “Arnold Presses”. I don’t know if you have ever heard of them but the lift actually works all three head to the deltoid and will give you massive shoulders. You can either search for it on the net or check it out in Arnold body building books.

I have found that using super-sets and tri-set of two and three different exercises has really carved out my delts in to three distinct heads. I also am a big believer in “cuban presses” and external rotation exercises. I never fully developed the three-dimensional look to my delts until I became serious about and prioritized posterior delt work. I hope this helps.

Try the Jerry Telle lateral raises described in the April 30, 1999 issue of Testosterone entitled Tellekinetics: A New Way to Train Shoulders. These should make your medial delts rather sore.