Best Way to Bench with Long Arms?

So I am pass the stage of bodybuilding and have found that a wide grip (index finger around the ring on the olympic bar ,49lb bar) is optimal for chest growth when brought down at nipple level. However, I started playing with my grip width because I couldnt seem to find my best groove to stay tight and most powerful at. So as I was playing with CGBP I have found that I have the ability to stay tighter and be more explosive but the range of motion takes longer which means would take longer for me to get stronger and get more reps in.

So I tried doing the wide grip back to the index finger on the ring part of the bar and brought the bar to my sternum, right below the chest and pressed from there. At this point, I felt fairly strong, stronger grip, less range of motion but could not just stay as tight with the CGBP. So currently my goal is to get stronger on the bench and felt that this should be posted on the powerlifting thread.

What have you long arm guys felt works best for you on the bench in terms of bar parth and grip and other info that you make think may be helpful?

I am thinking of trying a different grip width by bringing my arms a little closer in the bar, somewhere much closer where my arms are broughy in more and that my pinky is not wrapped around the ring portion of the bar but much more closer but not close to the point where it becomes a CGBP.

The weight difference in pressing with both grips are almost the same but CGBP has less reps.

Prioritize getting your chest, shoulders and all of your upper back involved first. Then make adjustments from there.

Your bench shouldn’t be dictated by limb length, bench the way that moves the most weight. Instead of worrying about things you can’t change, worry about finding a good bench setup.

[quote]cparker wrote: