Best Time to Take Spike Energy Shot?

I do one race per year it is a 2 mile turkey trot on thanksgiving. this year i am trying to get my time down into the 12 min range just missed it by 10 secs last year.

So i bought some Spike Energy Shots to help with my preformance my question is how should i time my pre race meal in relation to taking the energy shot so i get the most bang for my buck out of the energy shot.

I have no experience with Spike specifically… but as far as energy shots and various energy supplements, it seems to take about 10-15 minutes for me before I really notice effects, if consumed on an empty stomach. Absorption rates will be slower if your stomach isn’t empty.

Doing a bit of quick research on caffeine itself, looks it takes 15-45 minutes to reach max levels, and full CNS stimulation occurs in 30-60 minutes. Effects last 3-4 hours in most people.

So, given that, I’d probably take it 45-60 minutes before the race on an empty stomach, or a bit earlier if you’re taking it with food.

[quote]jeep7588 wrote:
I do one race per year it is a 2 mile turkey trot on thanksgiving. this year i am trying to get my time down into the 12 min range just missed it by 10 secs last year.

So i bought some Spike Energy Shots to help with my preformance my question is how should i time my pre race meal in relation to taking the energy shot so i get the most bang for my buck out of the energy shot.[/quote]
For serious athletes, one of the worst things you can do for a race is to try a new supplement or food for the first time the day of the big race. It’s hard to predict how you’ll react - if you’ll get overstimulated and only needed half a Spike, have stomach upset, not time it right due to food intake and end up feeling the effects too late or not at all, etc.