T Nation

Best Time For Cardio

Hello Everyone,

When is the best time for cardio? I’m a college student and I usually lift weights mid morning around 10am and would like to mix in some cardio as well. When would be the best time for that? If I could have it my way, I would go back to the gym around 4:30 or 5:00 for the cardio work. How does this sound? Thanks

sometime between 12:00 am and 11:59pm.

[quote]cardinal25 wrote:
Hello Everyone,

When is the best time for cardio? I’m a college student and I usually lift weights mid morning around 10am and would like to mix in some cardio as well. When would be the best time for that? If I could have it my way, I would go back to the gym around 4:30 or 5:00 for the cardio work. How does this sound? Thanks

[/quote]

I do my cardio before my workouts (and before dinner) around 5:30 PM. It has worked for me!

[quote]cardinal25 wrote:
Hello Everyone,

[/quote]

Sounds fine. Get it in when you can.

Depends what your goals are; if you’re a fat ass; then in the morning on an empty stomach. If you are Anrnold then never.

So the answer is; how longs a piece of string?

I’m a college linebacker so I’m not a fatass haha…but thanks for the advice everyone.

[quote]alstan90 wrote:
Depends what your goals are; if you’re a fat ass; then in the morning on an empty stomach. If you are Anrnold then never.

So the answer is; how longs a piece of string? [/quote]

still doesn’t matter. While there may be a very slight advantage to that, it’s not going to matter in the grand scheme of things.

If you’re lifting in the morning and planning to do cardio in the afternoon you may want to consider swapping the times. i.e. Cardio in the morning and lifting later.

A few reasons:
(1) Greater chance of getting injured lifting in the morning – from this website
(2) Greater muscle gains lifting later in the day – from this website
(3) Read 100 Workouts to Getting Lean articles posted today. Recommends light morning cardio