T Nation

Best Supplement or Food Before Bed ?

I try to go to the cafe as many times as I can during the day and I eat peanut butter, chickpeas, chicken, and as much as I can when I'm not at the cafe. I'm a college student trying to gain weight and am wondering what some of you guys think would be the best thing to have before bed. I'm getting sick of peanut butter before bed, and it takes some time to eat half of tub of peanut butter.

Anybody know what is good to boost up my caloric intake, but is relatively cheap? I'm kind of running out of ideas and may just resort to a weight gainer because it's quick to make.

Some kind of shake with raw eggs would boost calories, if you mix them with milk you can't even taste them. I suggest getting a blender bottle, great investment.

Agree totally. I would add Coconut Milk and whole milk/yogurt as calories dense ingredients too. There is a brand of coconut milk called 'So Delicious' that is in a couple of markets in my area. Its in with the milk in a red half gallon carton. You can also add some of that peanut butter to your shake, but not half a tub! I use almond butter but it is more expensive. But if you have access to Costco, they have a sweet deal on Almond Butter that puts it right there with PB.

And if simply upping calories is your priority why overlook the obvious - Ice Cream!! I'm half-way thru a tub of Eddy Slow-churned right now.

I'd usually have some casein and banana shake before bed. On nights I want something different and 'hardcore' I'd just go with milk and raw eggs.

You say you are going to the 'cafe' while at school. Are you buying meals there? If you are looking for something that is relatively cheap stop paying for meals at school and make them at home.

As for night time shake. two tablespoons natural PB eating off spoon, casein protein, leucine, and EPA/DHA

Weight gainers are easy. I like muscle juice revolution but I am unsure of the price. Milk is good!

Thanks for the input guys.