Best Strength Training Program for Armwrestling?

Even thought armwrestling is one of the world’s oldest “sports”, there really aren’t many scientifc studies on the best type of strength training exercises/programs for armwrestling such as for so many other mainstream sports. So I was wondering given your vast experience, what type of strength training program would you implement? Or your program would greatly depend on the person’s neurotransmitter type?

I’m not gonna lie, I have no experience training arm wrestlers. So I can only theorize about what would work best for them from what I’ve seen of the sport and my understanding of it.

I do have a friend of mine who competed at a fairly high level so his training (he was training mostly strongman-style with additional grip and arm work) can give me some ideas.

From what I know, strength is obviously very important, especially in the upper body/arms, although it seems like the technique has evolved to rely on the whole body. BUT I think that power/explosiveness is just as important if not more.

It seems to me that the person who can go from zero to max force in the smallest amount of time has a huge advantage. This would require both a quick reaction time and a very high level of starting strength (the most rapid form of power).

I also don’t think that you should get overly specific with your strength movements, especially if you include a good amount of technique work.

Again, since it’s not my area of expertise I’m actually using the this “answer screen” to do my thinking “out loud”, this helps me gradually work things out.

So, I’ll start by some general thoughts.

Things that I think would be very beneficial:

• Heavy arm flexor work focusing on both the concentric, eccentric and overcoming isometrics. I think that Zottman curls might be especially interesting (for the eccentric emphasis portion)

• Explosive arm flexor work like heavy cheated hammer curls and barbell curl drop and catch