Best Squat Warmup?

I was just wondering what you all did here to warm up before you squat? Ive been using a westside template for around 3 months, and have just recieved my strength and conditioning program for UofR where Ill be playing next year. They have a very interesting program as it is westside, kinda. There are the dynamic days, but instead of ME days, used is western periodization so for example today I did squat sets of 12,10,8,6. My hips were real sore all while I was squatting and then seemed to loosen after I was done, which I want to avoid.

So, what are the best things to do before squatting so that I am properly warmed up for this uber important part of the workout?

1. Do something to get your overall body temperature elevated. Stationary biking, fast walking, jump rope, jumping jacks-in most cases, it should cause you to break a mild sweat

2. Get the legs and especially the hips warmed up. I do this in a couple of ways

a. Ride a stationary bike with the outer part of my feet on the pedals with my knees out wide-it looks stupid, but who cares.

b. I set up some pins in the power rack and do a variety of step over movements where I step over the ins backwards and forwards, then side step back and forth over the pins in a lateral fashion
(pins are mid-thigh height) and then raise the pins and do some “duck unders” kind of a lateral motion side stepping back and forth underneath the bar while lunging sideways.

c. I do a set of 8 with 135, 2 reps with 225, 1 rep with 275, 1 rep with 315 and then do my first real set.

Hope that helps