Best Plan for Losing Fat and Building Muscle at an "Older" Age?

If this has been asked before i apologize, and please feel free to point me in the direction i need to go to find that post.

But i am 42, have had a great deal of exp with lifting over my life but have been out of it for quite a while and have turned into a soft overweight mess.

While im not exactly looking to get a six pack all ripped look, i do want to get back into some sort of respectable shape. I have been hitting the gym for the past 4 or 5 months. Currently i am giving GVT a shot to hopefully build up some muscle and burn off some of the excess fat in the process.

I wanted to see if anyone had any advice on what may be the best rout to go for someone at my age to get some good results. I have seen a change in my appearance with what ive been doing so far, but i wanted to see if there was maybe a plan out there that i could be doing that would get me quicker results.

Right now im lifting 3 days a week, doing HIIT on the off days, and the weekend is when i work so im not able to do anything other than walk up and down flights of stairs all night.

Im about 5’8 and 235 pounds currently. The only thing other than my weekend night work schedule that holds me back is that i have bad shoulders so i dont do things like dips and i usually avoid bench presses unless i am using a plate loaded bench and not a straight bar.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated

Props for committing to improving yourself, and congrats on the progress you’ve already made.