Best or Most Priceworthy Adjustable Dumbbells?

See my question in the headline.

Have finally decided to buy a pair of adjustable dumbbells, for training days at home due to unaccessability to the gym in periods.

Please share some good suggestions.

Primarily the best available, but priceworthy alternatives can be interesting.

I’ve got the 90lb power blocks. I really like them. They aren’t too unwieldy. Very sturdy. Hard to do goblet squats, though.

1 Like

I have owned ironmasters and power blocks and have used bowflex. That is also the order I rank them in. Ironmasters feel the most like dumbbells in the hand and are super modular with lots of upgrades and modifications. Powerblocks change out weight faster but feel weird in the hand to me. Bowflex seems to run into issues with weight changes and feel weird.

1 Like

I have a set of iron masters and really like them. They are fairly compact, and aside from the square shape, felt most like standard gym dumbbells. I think powerblocks are a little cheaper, and can be changed faster. But when I’ve used them, I didn’t like the feel of having my hand inside the frame of the weight.

I believe some other neat/novel designs have recently come on the market. You can find reviews of these on the Garage Gym Review web site (Coop is the host). Not sure about availability in Europe.

1 Like

Thanks Al,

I had a look at the Garage Gym Review, and he surely did a thorough review of the best of all available adjustable dumbbells on the market 2021! Just what I was looking for!

The Powerblocks won, Ironmasters second followed by honorable mention to Bowflex. Very close to what @doogie and @T3hPwnisher suggested.

Availability in Europe is indeed a question these days. Especially since GB has left the EU, which was a great link to the US Amazon. I found a local (Swedish) solution through Coop’s review, which he also rated among the best - Nuobells.