Best Exercises for Posture?

Probably asked a million times

I have asked several people about this and I have always been given similar but different answers. I finally want to confirm it here.
What exercise best helps posture?
The common rounded shoulders, forward neck gut out kind.

[quote]Tatsumaki wrote:
I have asked several people about this and I have always been given similar but different answers. I finally want to confirm it here.

[/quote]

All of them. Building muscle in general all over your body can help in posture all by itself…if for no other reason than increasing self esteem. The rest is largely up to you making a conscious effort to walk upright like a humanoid.

Dwight from The Office swears by using exercise balls instead of chairs.

Do it

Back before I started lifting weights, here’s what I did to improve posture:

1. Stand next to a wall
  2. Stick your elbows and hands to the wall, overhead
  3. Make a diamond shape with your thumbs and index fingers.

Stay in that position for a few minutes, and keep doing this every few days. Helped me.

Personally, face pulls and stretching the chest and front delts a lot have really helped

Scapula protractions, retractions

External/internal rotations

Scapula press ups,

Prone internal rotations.

[quote]Cprimero wrote:
Personally, face pulls and stretching the chest and front delts a lot have really helped[/quote]

Agreed with this. Maybe it’s just me, but I think rack pulls and deadlifts help a lot, too. You know, deads kind of have the whole “do them right or fuck up your spine” vibe to them.

CT has said a couple times that supinated grip deadlifts are very good for improving posture.

I’d say if I had to pick 3 exercises to improve my posture, it would be deadlifts, barbell bicep curls & seated cable rows.

If you already have a very bad posture, you may want to give a try to this program, at least for four-six weeks:

You can read part I, II and III for your training education!