T Nation

Best Drills To Improve Footwork?

Im a HS senior, done with HS football and now looking on the college. Im not D1 prospect, but i know im going to play somewhere. As an offensive and defensive lineman, footwork and explosion is very VERY important. I come to you with this, o sensai’s of the pump: What are some of the best drills that i could do to help to improve my footwork, and short explosion so as to help me the most on the field?

All help is greatly appreciated

i would imagine that heavy deads and sumos and speed squats emphasizing the speed in transition from lowering to raising the weight are your best friends. going sub-maximally heavy or not-so-heavy-but-fast will force you to put tremendous effort into stability (not to mention power).

thanks wufwugy…Any drills that are just running and the like?

im a trainer for a company called explosive performance and we specialize in training for speed and quickness. We train most of the elite football players for UVA, VATech, and UMD, and also all the area’s elite high school athletes (D.C. Metro area)

i have to study for a final tonight, but sometime in the next couple of days I will post a whole shitload of things you can do for footwork

hoosierdaddy

Coach Davies has his entire book on “Renegade Football” and I believe there are several footwork drills in there. While what wufwugy points out certainly helps in developing overall power and explosiveness, they really do not have anything to do with pure agility and footwork. Try the Coach Davies route.

Good luck to you!

Kuz