T Nation

Best Bar Types?

Hello!

I have been powerlifting for a couple years now(non competitive thus far so I’m not a “power lifter” but working on it) and I have worked out at a plethora of gyms with a wide variety of bars. I understand the difference between power bars, DL bars and OLY bars, etc. My question is regarding the DL and the ideal bars to use for different types of training. An example of what I’m trying to say is- stiffer bars can help strength by minimizing whip and getting accustomed to heavier weight through the full ROM. What I would like to know is if people DL with the OLY bar, if so, why and what benefits do you receive? Same thing with a power bar with moderate whip? Also, potential brands to look for at commercial gyms? This is kind of a hard question to put into words, but I appreciate any help!!

Oly bars whip a more than power bars but not as much as DL bars. Oly bars IIRC are also midway in terms of diameter with deadlift bar < oly < power < squat.

Plenty of lifters train on stiff bars even if they compete with a deadlift bar. It is probably beneficial to be familiar with a deadlift bar though and these same lifters might do a training cycle with stiff bar farther out from a meet and get more specific closer to a meet. Not a bad strategy at all if off the floor is your weakness as long as you build familiarity with the noodle bar by the time the meet comes around.

Personally I pull a bit more on a noodle bar than a stiff bar but the carryover strong and the transition straightforward. I know some guys who are thrown off by a deadlift bar even if they’ve trained on it and pull the same as they do on a stiff.

Oly bars have less aggressive knurl than a power bar. Could be good or bad depending on what you prefer. Like if you front squat with an oly bar it won’t take a chunk out of your neck.