Bent Row Technique

Hi all. I have been doing barbell rows bent at nearly 90 degrees to the floor. While I have had good results from this technique (in terms of upper back recruitment as far as I can tell)my weights have stayed fairly low. While this in itself doesn’t concern me, I seemed to get a better workout when i tried a 45 degree strict row with heavier weight.

The 90 degree angle seems to hit the rear delts more. I do romanians or conventional deads following bent rows so my upper back gets pretty beat up. So increasing weights on the bent row is not my prime concern. Please give your opinion on the most effective technique to do it.

I go about 90 degrees… what rep scheme are you doing? if you pull with low reps (1-5 reps), you should be able to get stronger pretty easily

I’m not an expert, but I think that keeping your elbows flared out, regardless of body angle, will increase the involvement of your rear delts. I used a 45 degree angle and pulled the bar to my mid-abs instead of my chest. I preferred this way because I felt like I could stay tighter in my lower back and not cheat as much when the set got hard.

To be honest, I dropped barbell rows in favor of dumbbell rows. There’s a slightly larger ROM and less back strain.

I use about a 45 degree angle (torso not parallel to floor, or upright, but sort of in between the two). I make certain to keep a small tight arch in my lower back (for better contractions), and always pull into my hips/lower stomach area to really recruit the back muscles and minimize the arm involvement (think of an angled shrug if you will).

The last year or so, I’ve been making use of DBs for this movement as I find I get a better contraction as the 'bells can move slightly to my sides at the peak contraction point.

S