Benchmark for Bench Press and DoggCrap

Hi all, just been surfing round T-Nation, got linked to the Intense Muscle.com and Sharing Some Thoughts on the Dogg Pound/ Pound Puppy Forum
www.intensemuscle.com/27376-sharing-some-thoughts.html
It says.

As a general guideline, if you are not in the ‘Advanced’ category for bench press, squat and deadlift as set out in the below links, you are not IMO ready for DC.
http://www.exrx.net/Testing/WeightLi...Standards.html

So I clicked it to check my spec.
I weigh 12.4 Stone or 173.6 Pounds. I’ve been training for over 2 years. I’m benching at 116 pound. According to the chart, I should be at 164 for a Novice 201 Intermediate. Is this reasonably accurate, should I be able to lift more? If not, is it because I’m Over 35( I’m 38) and my diet up to spec either.
I’m not fussed, just curious.

Mike:)

[quote]mikee55 wrote:
Hi all, just been surfing round T-Nation, got linked to the Intense Muscle.com and Sharing Some Thoughts on the Dogg Pound/ Pound Puppy Forum
www.intensemuscle.com/27376-sharing-some-thoughts.html
It says.

As a general guideline, if you are not in the ‘Advanced’ category for bench press, squat and deadlift as set out in the below links, you are not IMO ready for DC.
http://www.exrx.net/Testing/WeightLi...Standards.html

So I clicked it to check my spec.
I weigh 12.4 Stone or 173.6 Pounds. I’ve been training for over 2 years. I’m benching at 116 pound. According to the chart, I should be at 164 for a Novice 201 Intermediate. Is this reasonably accurate, should I be able to lift more? If not, is it because I’m Over 35( I’m 38) and my diet up to spec either.
I’m not fussed, just curious.

Mike:)[/quote]

The charts seem to fit me and my progress pretty well. Some would even say that those standards are low. It doesn’t have much to do with age (1’m 47). If you don’t have a shoulder injury then one would have to look to how consistently you have been training the lift.