T Nation

Benched Stalled and is Starting to Go Down

Hi,

I have been running the Texas method for a few months now and I have gotten some decent gains out of it. My squat has moved up from 300 to 345, however my bench has stalled out big time. My highest 5RM during Texas method was 215 which was 2 weeks ago. Last week I then did 200 5x5 for intensity day and only managed 220x3 at the end of the week. I repeated 200 5x5 again this week and now I can only hit 220x2 at the end of the week. My squat, deadlift and overhead press are all still moving up. I modified the program a few months back so that every week I bench twice and do OHP once. Should I add a third, light bench day? I also was thinking of dropping my 5x5 to 185 but pausing every rep and then working my way back up to 200 5x5 but paused. I noticed I am weak off the chest but I can do rack lockouts with 290. Would this be a good choice? I am also thinking of maybe taking a week off as I have been working out just about every other day for a solid 8 months now. Please let me know what helped you get your bench moving again. Thanks!

Id say move on to 5/3/1 or a 10x3 like Waterbury method

If want to stick with Texas try switching to OHP for 5x5 on the first day. Do not add a third bench day. Also add some direct tricep work like band pressdowns 5x20 or this…