T Nation

Benched 315 First Time.

I finally benched 3 plates. I started lifting 1 year ago after trying to starve myself into losing weight. Then I only stuck with the gym for 2 months before getting lazy and quitting, though I gained some strenght and lost some weight. After a few months of being a lazy bastard I decided to give the gym another shot. It has been 7 months so far.

Before joining the gym, when I quit, before joining again, current.

BW/BF%: 265 >40%(?), 240 32%, 240 37%, 276 30%
Bench: 185, 250, 225, 315!
Squat: 185, 315, 275, 425
Deadlift: 300, 405, ?, 450
Pullups: 0,0,0,1 :stuck_out_tongue:

When I joined 7 months ago my goal was to build muscle as opposed to lose weight, because my metabolism was just too slow to make losing fat feasible. I set a goal to bench 3 plates by my 19th birthday, and I have been killing myself to reach it since then. I turn 19 tommorow, so I just barely got it :slightly_smiling:

I also promised myself that when I hit 3 plates I would try losing weight again........... damn.

Oh yea before I forget I'd like to thank this site for most of my progress up to this point, without it I'd probably do legs even less often than I do them now.

congrats

Welcome to the world of grown-folk's weights- congrats! A 315 bench for a 200-300 lb man ain't nothing throw up in anybody's face- but it seems to seperate the strong men at most gyms from the rest of the guys.

Yeah, congrats! I just got 315 the other day also. You wanna have a race to 405?

so you were benching 265 on your first workout? Damn...

Good job on your gains!

i won

congrads. tht was my goal to finish off the summer benchin 3 plates, i accomplished tht about 3 weeks ago, im 17. keep it up

315 is the gold standard for the vast majority of folks.

You are in good comapny.

Great job.

jack

that was his weight. He's got 185 as his bench for his first workout.

The quest for 4 plates is a whole different game.