Bench Stuck at 225

Hello T-Nation. I’ve been lifting for almost 2 years now. My bench seems to have plateaued aat 225. Any tips on how to break through this? Is age a factor? I’m 36

Height and weight? What are you doing to train bench? How long have you been plateaued? What were you benching two years ago? No, age isn’t a factor.

Your age is not much of a factor yet. Also, I don’t think you have actually plateaued nor do I think you are “stuck,” 225 is simply where you are at right now. Keep training intelligently and eating; it will go up.

This is a mental obstacle. The number of guys who get to 225 or just 220 and stick there is staggering.

Try a spotter or lift in the power rack and go for it.

In a nut shell… not enough information to advise

I can’t tell you how to get past 225, but I can tell you how I got there – and maybe you could apply that to your plateau. My current working set is 225 at around 6 to 7 reps. So I can bench more than 225, but I judge my lifts by being able to get at through at least 5 reps.

I used a power cage. I think its one of the most misused/underused piece of equipment in the gym. 90% of the folks I see in the cage are either using it as a squat rack, or a place to do forearm curls. The pins are there for a reason and most people don’t utilize it as a plateau buster.

Anyway, once a week after a chest workout I put the pins at various heights and work all of my sticking points individually. At the lockout, I load the bar (in small increments) to quite a bit over my 1 rep max and do partials. It gets your system accustomed to holding heavier weights.

Another technique I used is dead stop benching. Put the pins just above your chest, slide under and do 1 rep from a dead stop – as slow as you need to get the weight up. Start from a manageable weight and load small increments until a single rep is brutal to get up.

Eat lots of chicken and other proteins.