T Nation

Bench Strength is Troubling Me

Hi,
I’ve been working out consistently for about six months and I’ve put on about 20lbs. I’m 5’9" and 160lbs which isn’t by any means good (mostly because of an inconsistent diet combined with a fast metabolism at 19 years old) but I’m gradually getting stronger and bigger. I usually do a full body workout 3x a week but I change it up every once in a while based on my own instincts and daily schedule.

Something that’s been troubling me lately is my bench press strength. I usually work with low reps and high weight and took my bench from about 150lbs to 215. My past few weeks worth of workouts however I haven’t simply plateaued but weakened by about 10lbs on my max, which is very frustrating. Is fluctuating in strength like this a normal part of training and is the best solution is to not worry about it and simply keep working as hard as I can at it each work out? Or is it a sign I need to maybe stop benching for a while or in some other way improve my recovery?

For comparison I can dip + 25lbs for a good full range 12 reps and I can 8 rep a pair of 75lb dumbbells, and I do these exercises much less frequently than the standard barbell bench. Thanks in advance for advice.

[quote]rhet wrote:
Hi,
I’ve been working out consistently for about six months and I’ve put on about 20lbs. I’m 5’9" and 160lbs […]at 19 years old […] I change it up every once in a while based on my own instincts […].[/quote]

To be honest, that doesn’t sound very good.

How are your other lifts progressing ? Did you lose strength on your Squat and/or Deadlift ?

What about changes in your bodyweight ?

Your strength should fluctuate a bit, thats not that unusual.

Ive seen guys get hyped up like they are on crack and hit amazing lifts that they couldn’t do a week later to save their lives.

But it sounds more like your burning out.

Perhaps it has something to do with your recovery methods.