T Nation

Bench Stalled at Pathetic Weight

So I have been doing 5/3/1 for the last 7 months and my bench really doesn't seem to be responding to it.

Here are my estimated 1rm for the last 16 weeks ( based on Jims calculator)

1- 215
2- 221
3- 220
4- 221
5- 221
6- 227
7- 228
8- 240(I think I was just really loaded up on stims and "on")
9- 222
10 227
11 233
12 227
13 214
14 225
15 220
16 226

The 3 months before this was more of the same thing - languishing between 220-230. So I have essentially made zero progress over this period.

Now this only seems to be the case with bench. For example my deadlift estimated 1rm has gone slowly from 400 to 450(this has been very consistent with very steady progress and thus far no signs of slowing).

Because of the progress on the other lifts I think it's fairly safe to say that diet isn't the issue. One thing that should be mentioned though is that I am on a maintenance diet and sitting very consistently @ 185lbs @ 5'11.

In the past(2 years ago) I've benched 265 but this was at a body weight of around 205.

For accessory work I do 2 compound exercises (one pushing one pulling) for 5 sets of 8-10. These will be 2 of the exercises recommended in the book. I will usually do these for straight sets, coming 2/3 reps short of failure on the last set. I then usually finish with either some isolation work for the arms or some light shoulder work like band pulls/face pulls etc, this work is pretty light and doesn't exceed 30 reps total volume.

I have been adding the 5 pounds to the max every cycle and once in the last 4 months I have reset my max down 15 pounds. Every time I have reset my max and started again the first week I will get around 10-12, the second 6-8, and the third 3-5. This quickly disappears though as I move the max up while not making progress. Then within 3 cycles Im only hitting prescribed reps or +1 (like today on week 2 I got 200x4).