Bench Shirt for Training

I’ve never used a bench shirt before, but I plan to compete in IPF at the end of this year. It has been suggested that I should train in a shirt to get used to it.

I train alone most of the time, and I’ve been told that putting a shirt on requires help. Is there any point in getting a shirt a size or two too big so that I can maybe get it on myself?

Or is this wishful thinking?

I’m not too concerned about lifting the most amount of weight (strangely), I’m really just competing so that I have a concrete goal to shoot for - lose fat and get stronger by the date of comp.

Any recommendations on which shirt for IPF? I have weak triceps and delts and relatively strong pecs, but I am making a concerted effort to keep my elbows in a bit so that [eventually] I will have stronger delts and tris. I lift in a reasonably straight line as far as I can tell.

I haven’t been training long and I currently bench somewhere around 105kg (231lb) with a pause.

I mention all this because I am assuming that shirts are cut differently for different lifting styles and weight intended to be lifted, although I don’t really get this info looking at the websites of the people who make the shirts…

Just because you are lifting in a contest doesn’t mean you have to use a shirt, especially your first contest. I mean why buy something when you might find out you dont even like competing? That being said, you ABSOLUTELY need to practice first if you do decide to lift geared.

A good starter shirt would be a Titan F6 or Fury, Inzer Rage or Rage X. Its wishful thinking, a shirt so lose that you can put it on yourself would give you very little support especially if you’re looking for support through lockout. Buy what Titan calls a “Regular Fit”, should be a good learner shirt.

Sizing chart here ( http://www.plgearonline.com/sizing.htm )