T Nation

Bench Question...

I just started training Westside style and just started week 2… Did ME bench day today and maxed out on pin presses. I’ve read that I should keep the bar vertical over my elbows all the way and push straight up, but today on my last set I did 340 for 1 rep and as it came up I found the bar naturally drifted back toward my eyeline as I pressed as hard as I could. I do all lifts raw and am wondering if the “pressing straight up” style applies to shirt benches only? I am training to get my raw bench up to 4 plates, thats my goal, then I may train for an actual comp and buy a shirt. So should I continue to press the bar back or should I drop the weight and practice pressing straight up, hoping my body gets stronger with the new technique? Thanks for any advice you guys can give:)
Pete

Triceps need to be stronger. The bar will go to the part of your body which is strongest, which is your shoulders right now.

I now train Metal Militia style where the bar will drift back during the press. This allows me to lockout more weight. But…

I think pressing westside style has it’s merit. I believe, if your tricep strength is lagging, this is the way to press.

Do what works best for you.
Brian

thanks guys, makes sense…

Maybe it isn’t your triceps at all. I had this problem as well when I first started westside, and it was my lats. Once I learned how to truly set them tight before I even gripped the bar the problem was solved.

Ericka, good point… I’ll focus on the lats next time, thanks!

Depending on the height your pins were set at, you lats probably weren’t even involved much. Typically elbows flare or the bar drifts over the head when your body wants to bring your delts and pecs into the movement. Assuming you are tight, in all likelihood your triceps are the weak link.