Bench Press

Guys, I am a beginner, 19 yrs, so please bear with me. I’ve been lifting for about 4 months now, and i have a few questions regarding bench press. ( Also, maybe I should add, im 6" 0’ and im only 142 lbs )

I bench around 125 lbs. My question is, when you bench, does the barbell touch your chest? What part should it be touching? My friends tell me it should touch the very lower ends of my pecs, others say it should touch your collarbone. I want to know which one is correct.

The reason I’m asking this, is because I have seen some gains on the size of my pecs, however they are only limited to the sides, there is no growth in the middle region. Should I be doing more decline bench press ? Can anyone please explain me mechanics of diff. types of bench press and telling which one is good for what?

Please, posts like this belong to the beginners forum.

[quote]cupid_stupid wrote:
Guys, I am a beginner, 19 yrs, so please bear with me. I’ve been lifting for about 4 months now, and i have a few questions regarding bench press. ( Also, maybe I should add, im 6" 0’ and im only 142 lbs )

I bench around 125 lbs. My question is, when you bench, does the barbell touch your chest? What part should it be touching? My friends tell me it should touch the very lower ends of my pecs, others say it should touch your collarbone. I want to know which one is correct.

The reason I’m asking this, is because I have seen some gains on the size of my pecs, however they are only limited to the sides, there is no growth in the middle region. Should I be doing more decline bench press ? Can anyone please explain me mechanics of diff. types of bench press and telling which one is good for what? [/quote]

Around the lower pacs, where it feels comfy. Do some research kiddo.