Bench Press Relative Strength Training Help

Coach CT,

I am a 16 year old wrestler and a big fan of your work.

I have been lifting weights to help with wrestling for the last 8 months, cycling your 915 program with good results. I have a problem though which would be awesome if you could help.

I am one of the weakest guys on my team and my wrestling coach told me if I don’t bench 315(without getting fat) by September, I am out of the team. I currently bench 225 for 2 and I am 6’1, 175lbs.
Do you have any strategy to increase my relative strength in the bench press so much in only 3 months?
I’d love to push my body with whatever work you suggest. I’m no stranger to hard work and will do whatever you tell me.

Could you please help me with this?

Young Man,

I have been a head high school football coach for thirty six years and I am puzzled at some of the things coaches say or do.

I can’t help you with the bench press question; all I can say is you will go far in life with an attitude like yours.

Good Luck,

1 Like

That is quite likely one of the dumbest thing a coach ever said…

Well, not true…

I heard a figure skating coach (the first athletes I worked with 17 years ago were figure skaters) tell a 13 years old girl that if she lost her extra 10lbs she would get her double Axel.

One college football player I trained was told by the new coaching staff that he would lose his starting job (linebacker) if he didn’t gain 20lbs during the off-season… now, he was already the strongest guy on the team and wasn’t the fastest… adding 20lbs would have made him a worse player.

I jokingly told my player that we would train as usual, he would still be the strongest of the team and at the weight-in just put weight plates in his pockets.

That was a joke, but he actually did it… and it worked!!!

Anyway, of course this has no bearing on your situation.

You can’t force strength gains. First your likely have long arms. So the bench press will be a constant battle for you.