Bench Press PR X-Mas

Hey Guys. I am brand new to strength training, but can tell I am already hooked. I began lifting in May and have raised my BP 1RM from 180-200. I am 21 years old and weigh 177. What should my goal for BP by Christmas be? I am asking because my dad hurt himself by moving up too quickly (tendon problems). Thanks for the help!

Steve

Go for 475 by christmas, you should have no problem

I would aim for a max bench that is at least 75-100lbs less then your max squat and deadlift.

In all reality no one can tell you what you will be able to do… expecially as a beginner. i would set more short term goals of say 2-3 months.

To avoid injury NEVER increase weight at the cost of form, and make sure your program is balanced and your not one of those bench/bicep only guys.

[quote]JNeves wrote:
To avoid injury NEVER increase weight at the cost of form, and make sure your program is balanced and your not one of those bench/bicep only guys.

[/quote]

Definitly. Since you’re probably going to bench alot since you want to increase your bench, that means youre going to have to row just as often/much if not more.

Yup all the above is great advice. I will add the main thing you will want to do is cycle the reps after some time LOW and heavy going fo new PR’s do some time at higher reps 8-12 to bring the tendon strength up.

something like this works pretty good. start with say 80% of your 1 rm, next week use 90%, next use 70%(unload), then last week New PR. then readjust and use the new PR for the next training cycle start @ 70%, then 80, then 90, then 70, then new PR.

so for you being 200lb bencher it would look like week 1 160lbs, week 2 180lbs, week 3 140lbs, week 4 new pr well say 220. you would then do 155 70%, week 2 175, week 3 200, week 4 155, week 5 new PR. risne and repeat.

This will give a nice mix of reps and loads and being still young in training age you set to have HUGE increases.