T Nation

Bench Press Plateau

I have been training for around 2 years and it seems my bench press has just suddenly come to a complete stop. I have tried countless ways this includes doing varations such as close grip and OHP even floor pressing hasn’t had an impact. I have even put on 12lbs just to hopefully get 4lb on my bench. Don’t get me wrong the progress is slow as in the last 7 mounts my bench as come from 154 for a 1RM to 160 for 5RM.
I have just turned 17 and need a solution however I thing the only thing I need is time however I would like some tips that I could include. My weight is around 185 at 5"9 around 13-14% bf.

Try: Cluster training, high reps for a while OR a combo of high reps once a week & low reps once a week. Get your row numbers up, get strong as fuck on tri exts.

Texas method or madcow 5x5

Improve Technique: Post a formcheck and use targeted assistance work according to your technical weaknesses.

Put on more useful muscle so pretty much your whole upper body but probably more towards your triceps, front delts and pecs lel. I know you gained some weight but from your results you probably went about it sub optimally in some way.

Jump on a decent program.

Patience

3 Likes

What @khangles said, and also if you aren’t already bench more often. Maybe three times a week. Fit it in somewhere, something like three sets of five just to groove technique.

fuck knew I forget something.

1 Like

i strongly disagree with the notion that this should be addressed by fixing technical issues with his bench. programming should be super basic, and effective.

this kid is stuck at a 160 lbs 5rm on bench. that tells me there’s something seriously wrong here. I also think he’s waaaay underestimating his bodyfat, because there’s no way his bench would suck this much if all those numbers are accurate. A relatively lean 185, at 5’9, and struggling with 160 lbs bench? Don’t buy it.