Bench Press Plateau

Hi Guys,

I posted this a few days ago in the beginners forum, but have had no response.

I’m looking for a bit of help. I’ve been training seriously for the last 6 months or so.
In that time I’ve made good gains.

On all my major lifts: Deadlift, Bent Row, Overhead press, Pulldown etc I am still making gains.
I have one movement though that is really starting to annoy me, as I have reached a plateau. That move is the Bench press.

My one rep max has been stuck at 270 for 2 months now.

I work on a routine of 4 sets of 6 reps per exercise. I have been stuck using 242 for my work sets for weeks now. I seem to always miss reps, so am getting things like 2 sets of 5 reps and 2 sets of 4 for example. When I miss the rep targes like this, I will drop the weight to 220 at the end and rep out. Usually for 6 or 7 reps.

I think that my problem is the first couple of inches of pressing off of my chest, and that I have disproportional strength in my triceps, as I can close grip 220 for an easy 6-8 reps, while I battle for every rep on the Bench Press.

So, I guess my question is: What can I do to help the first part of the press? I can’t use dumbell presses, as the dumbells in my gym are not heavy enough.

Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Try to change your set/reps up a bit. Instead of going for 4 sets of 6 reps try jim wendler’s 5/3/1 program. Working up to a 5 rep max the first week, 3 rep max the second week, and 1 rep max the 3rd week. Also you can try variations to the bench press… Decline, Incline, Floor Press, Board Presses, Rack Lockouts. Hopefully this helped.

I think that a change, as suggested by cttballer23, could help.