T Nation

Bench Press Plateau

I’ve been training seriousley for 1 1/2 years now, and Ive had two major Bench press Plateau’s. My first one lasted about 3 months, and this one now. I’m stuck on 225 6 times. Its been like that for about 4 months now. I switched my routine but it doesnt seem to be helping much. Ive changed my diet, and am doing everything right, but nothing helps. Granted im only 15, but could this be a problem in the future? And tips??

225x6? Hmm… Stop using the barbell for around 2 months. Get yourself doing high volume work on DBs, say 10x10. Then go back to your barbell and resume whatever training you had.

The point is, with a 4 month plateau like that, you need to try very different stuff.

[quote]2274 wrote:
225x6? Hmm… Stop using the barbell for around 2 months. Get yourself doing high volume work on DBs, say 10x10. Then go back to your barbell and resume whatever training you had.

The point is, with a 4 month plateau like that, you need to try very different stuff.[/quote]

You could also try to stop all forms of benching for 2 months. Your body seems to be sick of it. Maybe focusing on making 20+ pullups should take your mind off it. Then go back to benching and see what happens.

[quote]2274 wrote:

The point is, with a 4 month plateau like that, you need to try very different stuff.[/quote]

Would something like a cambered bar work?

What does your bench training look like now (typical workout sets/reps/weight)? What supplemental/accessory work are you doing for your bench? How many times a week are you training your bench? Are you training your upper back heavy? What’s your height/weight?

More info is needed to give any meaningful advice.

[quote]Steel Nation wrote:
What does your bench training look like now (typical workout sets/reps/weight)? What supplemental/accessory work are you doing for your bench? How many times a week are you training your bench? Are you training your upper back heavy? What’s your height/weight?