T Nation

Bench Press Advice

I've been training quite consistently since September 2014. Yet, my bench press has remained absolutely stagnant since that time!

Embarrassingly, I've remained stuck at 80kg (5 reps) for the bench press. I incorporated weighted dips in my workout to see if that would improve my upper body/tricep strength but it appeared to be futile. While I have managed to go from unweighted dips to 40kg (for 6 reps), the bench press feels just as heavy.

Any advice? Feeling incredibly frustrating and it feels like I've been going backwards.

Have you tried 531? It seems obvious that bashing your head into that brick wall leads to no results.

I find it surprising that you can do 40kg weighted dips for 6, and yet plateau at 80kg bench for 5. What do you weigh? What has your bench routine been over the last month? three months? 6 months? What do you weigh?

Without the information mentioned above, who knows… However, 5/3/1 is a good suggestion. Also you may want to try searching this site for the Dave Tate 6 Week BP Cure. It works.

[quote]Ecchastang wrote:
I find it surprising that you can do 40kg weighted dips for 6, and yet plateau at 80kg bench for 5. What do you weigh? What has your bench routine been over the last month? three months? 6 months? What do you weigh?[/quote]
I weigh 70kg (155lbs).

I essentially have a split bodypart routine. I’ve been doing something along the lines of this, with roughly a day rest in between.

• Chest/Triceps - Bench Press, Weighted Dips, Skullcrushers, Tricep Pushdown
  • Back/Biceps - Lat Pulldown, Cable Row, T-bar Row, Bicep Curl, Hammer Curl, Weighted-Chinup
  • Shoulders/Triceps - Shoulder Press, Raises etc, Weighted Dips, Face Pulls
  • Legs/Abs - Deadlift, Leg press, Decline weighted crunches, weighted hyperextension, pullups

Ideally I would want to do a routine which incorporates a mixture of strength and hypertrophy.