T Nation

Bench Not Progressing ~ 1RM Stalled

I’ve been using 5/3/1 Full Body Template since January.

This is my first year training the barbell bench - and I use a relatively close grip, approximately a thumb’s length outside each inner ring.

2/2/12 - Started with a 90kg 1RM (conservative estimate due to frequent RC injuries)…
11/4/12 - Tested 1RM and got 105kg.

14/11/12 - 1RM still at 105kg. I get this weight relatively easily on my heavy days, and I do regular singles as I have been using the 3/5/1 sets and reps template combined with FBT for the last 2 cycles.

My other lifts are 227.5kg dead, 170kg squat, 75kg oh press.

I eat well and recover well, and my bodyweight has increased from 89kgs to 93kgs @ 6 foot tall since January. Nonetheless, I have added more food into my diet recently to try and help my bench.

Training-wise I have been following 3-day-per-week Full Body 531, and using Weighted Dips, Bench, and Press as my pressing exercises on the respective training days. I do fuckloads of chins, pullups, kettlebell swings and also DB row once per week.

Beginning this current cycle, I have changed my template around to benching every training day; 3/5/1 plus singles Monday; “dynamic” 5 x 10 @ 60% on Wednesday; and 3 x 5 @ 65, 75, 85% Friday. I am still OH Pressing but have dropped the weighted dips to accomodate extra bench pressing.

I’ve also slightly widened my grip to ensure my elbows do not drop below the bench top, and watched the usual recommended youtube videos.

…pretty much, my other lifts have progressed well but I want to force my bench to catch up somewhat. 7 months of no movement seems ridiculous. I do make my set reps every week, but never get more than 2 reps above the required now.

My rep-based “predicted max” fwiw is always 105kg and under.

One other point: my overhead press has progressed slowly too, but this isn’t unusual.

I feel my 1RM should have increased, but it hasn’t… so perhaps there is a massive form issue I am unaware of.