T Nation

Bench Help

Hey guys, thanks for the advice about getting above 150, I started up on 4000 calories a day and after like 3 weeks I’m at 155. Slowly but surely I guess.

Anyways, I’ve been having problems with bench really since I started lifting. I’ve been lifting for about a year now and my bench has never been that impressive.

When I started lifting, I was 120lbs and benched 75. Now, I’m 155 and max 170ish but I’ve been suck here for a while, and I’ve noticed my chest isn’t getting any bigger either.

Last week, I mil pressed 135x3 as my 3rd set, and I can DL 250. My pulldowns are pretty strong too, but I can’t give an accurate weight on that one.

Any advice for getting my bench up and blasting my chest? I thought about doing some isometrics but I’ve never really done any of those, and I also thought about doing the broken up sets (1 rep, 10 sec rest, repeat) that I read about.

Any help would be awesome, thanks in advance.

Youve gained 5 lbs in 3 weeks? Thats not slowly but surely, thats a normal pace.

If you have just recently started eating enough calories to grow, be patient and keep eating. Your bench will go up with time.

You arent going to make amazing progress in three weeks.

[quote]fightingtiger wrote:
Youve gained 5 lbs in 3 weeks? Thats not slowly but surely, thats a normal pace.

If you have just recently started eating enough calories to grow, be patient and keep eating. Your bench will go up with time.

You arent going to make amazing progress in three weeks.[/quote]

Well yea that’s true I won’t make amazing progress in that little amount of time. I guess it’s just sad to see my beginner’s progress (fast) turn into average progress (not so fast). The only thing that got me thinking I had a weak bench was that all of my other lifts are fairly strong for my size while my bench is not.