T Nation

BENCH HELP!!!

Im 19 so i should not be losing strength! but lately my bench has gone down, i have kept up on training, nutrition, and sleep! heres my workout
Monday: Off
Tuesday: Off
Wednesday: Bench
Thursday: DL
Friday Off
Saturday: Arms
Sunday: Squat

Should i start benching twice a week max effort? I need to improve my bench bad, comp. on aug. 6! Before i graduated i put up 400 raw, w/ pause. (about may 25) and last night i got a single at 375, missed #2, went to 355, same deal! And im gaining weight! so i guess im asking if i need to bench more than once a week, considering im 19, i have lots of energy, and recover well, i appreciate all the help folks,

[quote]FE_FrEaK wrote:
Im 19 so i should not be losing strength! but lately my bench has gone down, i have kept up on training, nutrition, and sleep! heres my workout
Monday: Off
Tuesday: Off
Wednesday: Bench
Thursday: DL
Friday Off
Saturday: Arms
Sunday: Squat

Should i start benching twice a week max effort? I need to improve my bench bad, comp. on aug. 6! Before i graduated i put up 400 raw, w/ pause. (about may 25) and last night i got a single at 375, missed #2, went to 355, same deal! And im gaining weight! so i guess im asking if i need to bench more than once a week, considering im 19, i have lots of energy, and recover well, i appreciate all the help folks, [/quote]

Why no shoulder work? Wouldn’t some delt work help with your bench power since the bench press usually uses the anterior deltoids as an assist muscle?

Other than that, it could be overtraining, undertraining, other weak muscles, stress, focus, or just a bad day.