T Nation

Bench Goal Feasible?

I'm trying to set a concrete goal on the bench press and wanted to get some feedback to see if it was feasible. I started lifting July 1 with a 1RM max of 205. I did 245 for the first time yesterday. I'm looking to put up 275 by New Years and 315 by June 1 (b-day). I know the beginners' gains will diminish pretty soon but hopefully some of the techniques from the site will help me get past them.

My background is as follows: 32 y/o . 6ft 190lbs 15% bf. I've never lifted more than 5 months straight. I always end up stopping for some reason or another. But not this time.

Is this a crazy goal or have some of you guys achieved similar results when you started lifting?

Falling Short of Goals, Need Help

Yeah, a beginner can add 15 lbs. a month. But don’t be surprised if you’re about past the beginner stage, then it slows down a lot.

Tough, but doable. It really depends on how much training focus you put on benching. I wouldn’t recommend neglecting your other lifts though.

Bottom line: You won’t know until you try!

It’s absolutely possible. I had a similar goal to put up 300 lbs by January 1, 2008.

I started off at 225 in July of 2007 and hit 275 at the beginning of December. On the last day of December, I put up 305.

it only took me a year to get to 300 from benching 80 lbs (Cause i didnt start strength training till the 2nd year i was working out), so i bet 300 will go up for you in a shorter time then 8 months.

Im 18
175lbs
Max Bench 325

u can do it, just eat and do weighted dips and incline benches, and Deadlifts/Squats, all will help your bench skyrocket.

[quote]Yakn Joe wrote:
It’s absolutely possible. I had a similar goal to put up 300 lbs by January 1, 2008.

I started off at 225 in July of 2007 and hit 275 at the beginning of December. On the last day of December, I put up 305.

[/quote]

Damn, that was a good December. Well I’m glad to hear someone else has done this. That actually makes it feasible.