T Nation

Bench Completely Stalled

So I have been lifting for about 2 years now, made excellent progress on my squat and deadlift (340 and 380 1RMs respectively) but I am completely stalling out on my bench (215 1RM, on a good day). I've taken multiple approaches to this over a period of time, most recently taking a full month off flat bench and focusing just on incline / decline bench as well as upper back building.

After this month my bench may even have gone down. What are some other options for me to bring my bench in line with my other lifts? For reference I am ~185 lbs, 6ft. If more information on my training regiment is needed, please let me know so I can fill in the details. Thanks for any and all help!

Tell me about your routine.

Right now, I am between routines. Playing with rack benches and doing some isolation work just to change it up. The past month I was benching 2x a week, Monday would be decline and Thursday would be incline. The set / rep went up in intensity every week, so the first week was sets of 8 up to what would be approximately 8rm, then second week was sets of 6, then 5, then 3.

After that, I took a rest week doing either very light or very low volume, then just came back and tried flat benching again only to find it a total no-go. Before that I was doing 5-3-1, only benching once a week but flat bench. And going back several months, most likely around January, I did a 6 week smolov JR program for bench.

Might as well start here:

http://www.tmuscle.com/free_online_article/sports_body_training_performance/dave_tates_sixweek_bench_press_cure

x2
I've had two bench press epiphanies in my 1 year of lifting. The first was that I stopped stalling once I started warming up properly. The second was that "I didn't know how to fucking bench." Lol, that one still kills me.

x3

And maybe experiment a little with paused benching depending on where you are weakest.

Here's a couple ideas-