T Nation

Bench Competition in August

Hey everyone im new to this section of the forum as usually I train for looks and watch my diet and judge progress on how I look in the mirror, not neccesarily what I’m one rep maxing (I dont follow powerlifting).

The other day in my gym a buddy of mine who happens to be a powerlifter told me about this bench press competition on August 11th. I wasn’t to eager at first because bench for whatever reason has been a lagging lift of mine and when I compete in anything I like to be in it to win it. As I thought more about it tho I realized it would be a good way to get this lagging lift up to par with my other lifts and how badass would it be to win a weightlifting trophy :slight_smile: ? I have a good amount of time to prepare as well so i signed up for it.

This is my plan of attack training wise for the competition:

Waterburys Total Strength Program (bench press routine)
March 24th- June 1st (10wks)
Advanced German Volume Training
June1st-July26th (8wks)
Back To Waterburys TSP to prep up
July 28th-August 7th (2wks)
Competition Aug. 11th.

Has anyone had experiences with these programs? (particularly the T.S.P.)

Im waiting till after springbreak to start as my current goal is to be a lean mofo come beach time, then im going to pack on the calories/carbs. My current 1RM is a measely 245 (but im on a lowww carb lifestyle and am a bit weaker than usual). My goal is to be one repping at least 315 by comp date (raw, then ill hop into a freinds powerlifting suit and who knows how much more I’ll press with one of those things on?). Has anyone put 70+ lbs on their bench in 4 months with no gear?

I don’t think it’s impossible to gain 70+ pounds, especially at your poundages, but it won’t be easy.

Personally, I wouldn’t wait until spring to start bench training. I would also use more bench-focused programs, nothing too cookie-cutter. You need to be able to adapt to your own needs and weaknesses quickly.

Good luck.