Belted Deadlifting

I have a long ago background in powerlifting, after a 20 year lay off I started training again about a year and a half ago. I have been training between PL and Strongman - 5/3/1 for a while, now a 16 week Jug cycle. Things have been moving along just fine.

I generally belt up for squats and dead when it gets to heavy triples and up. It’s not a rule, it’s just what I look back in my log and see. I have one of the EliteFTS full 4" belts, the basic single prong $120 one.

2 weeks ago I got to the triple’s phase in my Jug progression and on like the second rep I got pinched on the back top of my left love handle. I’m pretty full grown at 235’ish but i’m not a giant fatty. As weak sauce as it sounds it was incredibly painful. Finished set, ditched belt, finished workout.

So I thought about belt placement, adjusted it up higher for DL the next week - couldn’t get it right - ditched it. This week – messed around w/ placement – tried to pull w/ it – not ok. It’s either up into my upper rib cage or it seems like it messes w/ my DL form or something.

So. I am a little short in the torso - am considering a 3" belt or a spud belt or something – or a 3" spud DL belt. I can certainly DL just fine w/o a belt, but I do feel like I get something out of a belt.

Thoughts?

It’s good that you are able to deadlift fine without it. A 3" belt can help but I think you would get more out of a 4" belt in the long run. I don’t know for sure since I’ve never used a 3" belt.

How do you setup before you pull? Do you grab the bar and set your back right before you initiate the pull? This seems to work fine for me when I pull beltless but it’s harder to get tight doing this with a belt on (for both sumo and conventional). With a belt I find it much easier to get a strong setup by standing while taking in a deep breath, getting the upper body tight and then dipping down to grab the bar. I think I’m able to get in more air doing it this way.