Belt Required for DL?

Is a belt pretty much “mandatory” for deadlifting? I know it is when doing heavy singles or PRs for sure. Is there any advantage for doing DLs without one? I was thinking it strengthens the lower back more…

Is the belt more recommended or less for a beginner? Does it help or hinder technique?

Thanks.

The belt is used to create extra intra-abdominal pressure - basically, taking a big billy breath and forcing your stomach out against the belt helps you keep your midsection tight.
so no, the belt isn’t “mandatory” but if being tighter in the midsection can help you get a few more pounds, sure, why not?

If you’re a complete beginner, I would say that you should learn HOW to effectively wear and use a belt, but train without it as much as you can. You’re never going to run into the problem of “my midsection is too strong” but you can certainly encounter problems if your midsection isn’t strong enough.

In general, I do all my sets at 85% or below beltless. I pretty much only put the belt on when it’s time to go heavy and push myself.

Paul Carter from Lift-Run-Bang wrote an article on this earlier this week:

And I tend to agree with him. If your abs and lower back are comparatively weak, and you’re totally dependent on a belt, that’s not a good sign.

Ed Coan says don’t add anything until you need to. Do your deadlift warmups double overhand until you need to switch to your mixed grip. Do your deadlifts beltless until you get to your heaviest worksets where you need the belt. Stuff like that. Most people I know only add the belt on their heaviest sets.

As a beginner or intermediate, the belt really isn’t even necessary on your 90%+ sets, or even a 1RM. Leave the belt at home, keep building functional core strength.

I knew a 800+ deadlifter who never used a belt except a couple of weeks out from competition just to get used to it.