T Nation

Belt Question

I’ve never used a belt before but have seen enough poeple using them so now im kind of curious and thinking of getting one.

what exactly is the purpose of the belt? and what does it improve on? I’ve read on here that some poeple dont recommend using them?

Is something i should be using? thoughts?

Thanks in advance.

They help keep your posture, so you don’t mess your back doing things like squats and deads. They offer support.

This also means that, like with squats for example, your core isn’t getting worked as hard to help you stabilize. You’ll most likely be able to lift more with a belt on (I can), but you’re working your core/stabilizers less.

I use squats for their total effect, and do things like leg press in addition for muscle isolation, so I don’t use a belt.

I use a belt when doing max lifts ONLY (squats & deads). A belt also helps increase the internal pressure you put when doing the valsalva maneuver (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Valsalva_maneuver).

However, reading from a author on T-Nation he said that it can lead to external obliques weakness because you are pushing on the belt and not on your abs. But this comes down to people who use it more than necessary.

My take on them.

how long have you been lifting?? bodyweight?? lift numbers?? if your still new to lifting there is no need at all to have a belt…unless your using very heavy weights for reps between 1-5 your shouldnt use one, that doesnt mean you 110% cant, but i dont think you need one right now…so maybe give us some more information about your lifting experience and goals and that may help us give you better information…

IronWarrior

ive been lifting about 14 months now
im 32 years old, 5’-9", 180 lbs

PRs for Dead, Squat and bench are currently…405,320,200

i just basically want to continue ot make progress on my main lifts, gain a bit more size and maintain or increase my current level of leaness… so was wondering if a belt would be of benefit or not