T Nation

Belt for Deadlifts - Yay or Nay?

I am not really a beginner but guess this is probably the best place to post this.

I am training weights in order to put on weight and improve my strength for BJJ and MMA. I am currently following a slight modification of WS4SB.

I am currently working low rep high (for me) weight deadlifts for a few weeks. When I deadlift, I have never used a belt as I don’t want to have a weak zone in my back when I am fighting (obviously I don’t wear a belt to fight)

On Saturday I strained something in my lower back deadlifting. The root cause for the injury was my ego. I was doing a 5 rep set. On the 3rd rep I felt my lower back round and lost my form. Instead of resetting properly and completing the set with correct form, I lifted through it and felt a small pop in my lower back. Currently taking NSAIDs, resting it and alternating heat and ice.

My question comes from the fact that everyone I have spoken to since hurting myself has asked if I was wearing a belt. None of them are really people I would go to for advice on lifting however it does start to make you question your own assumptions.

So what says the T-Nation Populace on the matter?

Belt or no-belt for Deadlifts? (remember I have no plans to compete in Powerlifting so I actually don’t care too much about the max numbers I lift. I just want to gain strength and size as safely as possible.

I will wear a belt if I am trying for a PR. I never wear one when I am working out. If I need a belt that means I have neglected something I need to strengthen. That is my philosphy any way.

For lower back safety i would definately suggest using a belt on your heavier lifts. Just use it on your last work set or when you start to get into the 1-5 rep range. I only use one after i go over about 400lbs as not to rely on it but just to be safe.

If you feel unsafe then use a belt … I personally have never had any problems w/deadlift and have never used a belt even when trying for a new PR