T Nation

Belt and Knee Sleeves

I’m going to turn 30 this year and I’ve never used a belt or knee sleeves before. My lifts aren’t huge (best squat 340, deadlift 405), but I’m just curious to know when to start using stuff like this. As I get older, I’d like to take preventative measures before I get too beat up.

Thanks for any input.

I’m 30. Been using a belt since I was 21, and no idea when I started using sleeves.

There is no set time to use those things. Use them whenever you want.

I guess I have never felt like I’ve needed them because I don’t know what signs to look for. I understand it helps with stability but I was just wondering if there are any signs that point to belt or sleeve usage helping in order to continue moving forward.

I would say the sign is the wanting to use it. That’s all it is. You can spend your entire lifting career not using sleeves or a belt and be fine, or you could use sleeves and a belt from day 1 and be fine. It’s up to you.

In the old days, it wasn’t really anything that was worth thinking of. You just used it when you wanted to. This whole idea that there is some sort of level you have to ascend to before you’ve earned the right to wear a belt/knee sleeves/weightlifting shoes is purely an invention of the internet, and it’s typically weak people that propagate it. Strong people don’t really seem to care one way or the other.

Were I in your position, I’d use them, mainly because I don’t see a reason NOT to.

Well, I don’t own them. I lift in chucks and basketball shorts. The only thing holding me back is the fact that I would have to purchase them.
Just curious is all. Thanks for your input.

As you were.

No problem dude. If you decide to pick some up let me know. I’ve used a handful of belts and sleeves and have some opinions on them.

Right on, man. I really appreciate it.

If I were to look into buying, I was considering the knee sleeves that Mark Bell offers. As far as belts, I wouldn’t know where to start.