T Nation

Belfort-Silva Video

Don't think anyone has posted this before. The stoppage looks a little quick to me, but my background is boxing and not MMA. At any rate, this appears to be the one real blemish on Wanderlei's record (his other TKO was a doctor stoppage because of a cut and the only other losses are by decision, at least one controversial).

Obviously this was 8 years ago and Silva's a much more complete and confident fighter now. He hesistates for a moment -- which I'm not sure I've EVER seen him do -- and Belfort catches and stuns him and then does well to stay on him. Still, this looks like what in boxing we'd call a "flash knockdown."

Now obviously a flash knockdown is a much bigger deal in MMA since you don't have to step away as soon as your opponent goes to the ground, but Silva does seem to be defending himself and I think the jury's out on whether he's still able to fight back (which are the two criteria a boxing referee is supposed to use in determining whether to stop a fight).

What do you guys think?

Umm how was he defending at all?

Silva made the mistake of moving straight back instead of circling out. And damn, if Vitor wasn't lazy he'd be a machine.

That wasn't just a flash knockdown...he took quite a few good shots before going down, and he did not look like he was ready to defend himself at all. He was pretty much just laying there in a halfway-fetal position, even after the ref broke them up. It was a good call.

He got his ass kicked.

I don't know that I'd call it a blemish as he certainly learned from that experience and came back to be a thousand times stronger than Vitor did after the beating Couture gave him. Nobody expects a fighter to have a perfect record.

Then, you get to someone like Taktarov who brags that he never tapped even though he was brutally KOd and brutally beaten in most of his matches.