Being at a Dead-End Job

Hello Nation,

So, I have had my annual meeting with my managers and, despite good results and a very positive appreciation, after 6 years at my job, it appears that my current responsabilities and tasks are going to be broaden (I am an engineer, working in pre-sales conception in a 700 people company), because it was a very good year.

Good news, eh ? But there is a point. I am not going to be the one doing this new job. They took someone else, friend of an other manager and working in another unit which had bad results.

The guy has less experience, less qualification and worst results than me and I seriously feel buttraped about this.

It seems every decision is done and I have not been consulted on the issue. I am very very disappointed.

Every day I wake up at 7, go to work, get back at 7PM, I get a decent wage but nothing really fancy for my qualification.

If I were alone, I would probably seek for another job, but I am quite stuck between this quite comfort zone, that is going to become an uncomfort zone, and doing something bigger, but taking risks for my couple & incoming family.

Fact is, I cannot stand my new boss. I mean I dreamt of hurting him in a very non consensual way. I know this is going to be hell. He is the kind of guys who loves to befriend bosses.

How would you react ? My feelings are so messed up right now that I have trouble staying cold-blooded. I suck at office politics…

[quote]Biskui wrote:
I suck at office politics…
[/quote]
Then get better at this.

start looking for a new job.

I wouldn’t stay if there fucking you they have you as a bitch and will keep you that way. I find at any job once they know you’ll bust your ass for nothing they’ll keep you there because your good at it and willing to not stir the hive.
1, ask for a raise
2, seek out a higher paying job
3,comfort zones need to be broken now and then to make you feel alive.