Being a Better Student

With the next semester quickly approaching, it’s time to get prepared.

This may seem like a simple question, but hopefully there’ll be some good ideas. For those who’ve been to college or are going now, what are some of the things that you think helped you make better grades?

Reading the prescribed texts.

Sleeping.

i find writing down as much as i can while listening to the teacher, and what they write on the board. This will help ingrain the information into our head, then a quick review of the subject that night before bed.

While I was studying (I have a degree in electrical engineering) I have tried many things trying to improve my learning abilities. Different ways of keeping notes, using color markers, using flash cards, making my own course materials from different sources, recording lectures, working regulary during a course or taking it easy 3/4 of time and than working like a madman last week or two.

The bottom line, in my expirience, is simply the number of hours you put into it. It all boils down to that. Now, if you’re really smart and use some innovative way of learning, maybe you can get the job done in, let’s say 18 hours instead of 20 and maybe you’ll be more motivated to study. But, there’s no thing that’ll help you do that kind of work in 10 hours, for instance. Also, be aware that many times things don’t go as planned and that certain topics can take days before you truly get it.

Of course, this generally applies to engineering and maths…

1. Rewrite your notes you took by hand sometime in the same week.

2. If your campus has wireless, do not open your laptop during class unless you have great discipline - many crappy grades have come from distracted internet wanderers during class.

3. Make an organized outline of your class notes a month before finals.

4. Don’t take any test off - ie, don’t shank a midterm thinking you can make it up with a final.